shaken & stirred

welcome to my martini glass


another extremely exciting announcement! (updated)

The Speculative Literature Foundation has just announced the winner of this year's Fountain Award (for a speculative short story of exceptional literary quality): Jeffrey Ford for ""The Annals of Eelin-Ok" (from the excellent Faery Reel anthology).

Just as wonderful is the short list, full of great stuff, including David J. Schwartz's "The Lethe Man" from Say... why aren't we crying? Yay! I love that story (and many of the others on the list).

See the whole short list at the link. The 2004 jury was comprised of: Matthew Cheney, Gavin Grant, Patricia McKillip, Vandana Singh, and Alison Smith (who won last year's first Fountain Award for a story in McSweeney's). And lest you scoff, along with bragging rights the winner actually gets $1,000 -- not too shabby.


Update: Matthew Cheney posts some short thoughts; sounds like a great jury and a lot of work.
Another update: Dave reacts to being on the short list. (Yay! Again, yay!) Congratulations to all those recognized.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home